Early, but nonetheless

My art goals for 2009 were as follows.

  • Become more patient
  • Complete one piece per month
  • Self Portraits
  • Sketch daily
  • 100 Themes Project
  • At least 5 paid comissions
  • Finish Christmas gifts early
Well. I did…some steps towards these, but found it hard to complete projects this year. I am making an early resolution for next year, so that I still have a couple months to procrastinate, haha. I did take my time on more pieces this year. I completed about 6-8 major projects this year, which is better than nothing, I suppose. I started a self-portrait (still unfinished) but did another piece that I also considered a SP. Did not sketch daily, and did nothing towards the 100themes project. I finished 2 paid commissions and will be startingi the 3rd before the end of the year. 3 out of 5 isn’t too bad, considering. Christmas gifts…? Yeah, still not started those. That might be a good thing for the rest of this year in addition to the next.

In 2010…instead of saying I’ll do them, how about talking about how I intend to fulfill them?

Becoming More Patient
I’m going to try to be more diligent in regards to method and approach. My schedule gets so crazy that I can’t say “I’ll devote 3 hours a day all year to drawing/painting”, so as a buffer, we’ll say 30minutes a day. I can do that.

Complete One Piece Per Month
I think in my head I hear “piece” and I want it to be some huge magnificentthing. Well, I’m trying to get better at oils and such, so this year a “piece” can be defined as even a small canvas panel as astudy in method/color/etc.

Self Portraits
I’m thinking one at the beginning of the year, one at the end, or just one in the middle.

Sketch Daily
Getting smaller sketchbooks…haha. It makes it easier to transport them and I’m more likely to do some life drawing this way.

100ThemesProject
Damn, i think I started this back in 2007. I think this is hard for me because I’ll start something with a theme in mind and well, like I said in a couple posts before, everything I start turns into something different halfway through or at the end. So we’ll see. I don’t know if I should push through to say I did it, or put it away because it takes me forever to do it.

Paid Commissions
I’m not setting up anumber this year. I’m actually prettyproud of myself for getting 3 this year, but ultimately my art is for me, and the amount I sell shouldn’t reflect on my goals as long as I improve as an artist. So…we’re hoping for some commissions for the practice and such, but not putting a number up.

Christmas Gifts
This means that next year I need to start thinking of what I’m doing for everyone at the -beginning- of the year so I have some goals, haha.

Anyways……….workthis morning. Ciao.

One thought on “Early, but nonetheless

  1. I don't know how to add you on this thing haha…But yeah, I understand the thing about 'piece'. I too want my pieces to be grand and epic, how I see them in my head. But that usually makes me more frustrated.

Thoughts?

