Book Review : The Career Guide for Creative and Unconventional People

I haven’t done a book review yet on this blog, and neither do I know how to write reviews. But I thought I’d give this a go. Most people know that I recently quit my full-time job to pursue my art/tattooing. This book would’ve been a good read beforehand, but I digress.

My father, who is always reading and looking for books to help me further my career since I started my own business, bought me this book almost a year ago. Why I didn’t start reading it earlier, I’ll never know. Anyways, on to the review!

Carol Eikleberry’s book, The Career Guide for Creative and Unconventional People, opens up a path for those who are dissatisfied with their jobs, mostly due to the lack of room for creativity and freedom. Once you have realized your personality traits and work ethics in the beginnings of the book, it then goes on to give you tools and steps to pursue a dream job. Included in the book are over two-hundred different career options that may spark your interest. Eikleberry does review a lot of encouraging aspects (pros) of pursuing your creative career goals, but also outlines the practical side (cons) of an unconventional job.

Eikleberry introduces herself as a creative-type and assures her ability to advise you by letting you know about her experience in the area of career counseling, and her journey on how she got there. An overview of the creative and unconventional type brings the reader to the understanding that they are not alone, and that to be wired to think differently has its ups and downs, but is not a disadvantage to the individual. She gets the reader involved with checklists and mini-activities in a path to self-discovery and giving your career its own personality type. Once you’ve discovered your strengths, you are then asked to review your personal ethics and goals from your career choice. You are then invited to flip through the 270 career options in the back of the book. Included in this list is a paragraph, describing in detail each title, often including average yearly wages for successful individuals in that line of work.

Not only does Eikleberry provide many steps towards pursuing your goals, but she also goes on a few tangents in regards to approaching a career that best suits your creative soul. Once you’ve made your decision, this book also gives you encouragement and practical advice in order to continue to pursue your goals and to not become disheartened. Throughout the book are helpful references to other career-building books and links to websites to further your investigations on what career might be right for you. The website for the book itself has many tools and resources for a person hoping for a career change.

This book was everything it was described to be, and more. Having worked in the real world by trying to make a living at my art/tattooing, and knowing that it can be rough, I very much appreciated that Eikleberry didn’t paint a perfect picture of this journey. She addresses the hardships one is very likely to encounter when one changes careers or goes down an unconventional path. I discovered a new-found determination for continuing what I love doing as my career, as well as some paths I hadn’t considered before. This book brought to light some very real truths about myself as a creative individual and what goals I am pursuing.

Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone of my creative friends who are looking for a new direction in their work life, or need a reboot to their efforts. I was thoroughly pleased with the advice given in these pages, such that I am further researching by reading up on her suggestions.

Kae Lunde

One thought on “Book Review : The Career Guide for Creative and Unconventional People

Thoughts?

