Lil’ Green Monster and Thoughts

Most recently completed dream catcher : Lil’ Green Monster. This piece was commissioned by one of my best friends and the mother of my godson.

I’m really pleased with the results. Definitely the most green I’ve ever used on one of these, but I think it pops quite nicely. Not many people commission the oval shaped ones so it was a nice break from the circular forms. I think they all come out great regardless of shape and size.

So I’ve slipped back into procrastinating on my art, regardless of whether it is a personal endeavor or a commission, which isn’t good. I made some significant progress yesterday in regards to catching up, but I had to do so much in order to get into the right headspace. I don’t know if I’m developing OCD or if it is pregnancy nesting setting in early, but if my surroundings are not clean and organized before I start working…I can’t, and I won’t. I’ve learned this. Yesterday I spent 6 hours cleaning/rearranging/organizing before I would sit down. The piece above? Ones that size don’t take me more than 3 hours a piece…that includes selecting beads/charms, painting background, dry-time, and weaving. But I COULD NOT bring myself to do it before then.

So one of two things needs to happen. I either need to learn to sit down and work regardless of the cleanliness of my surroundings, or I need to continue a super-OCD mode in order to keep everything clean all the time.

This pregnancy has thrown me for a loop in the sense that I feel like I’m capable of doing some amazing artwork, and its been proven by the pieces I HAVE sat down and done when inspiration has struck, yet I feel like I don’t have the energy. Granted, I have more energy now than I did in the first trimester. I think it is more of a mental state that I need to push past. I want to ensure that I have lots of work available for sale and up on my Etsy, in galleries around town, etc, so that I can still make some money in the first couple months after Tobias is here when I can’t be tattooing as often as usual.

Have a few things to do this morning before heading out to my “real job” (I don’t even take this place seriously enough anymore to call it work), so I’ll be leaving you with this.

Kae

Thoughts?

