Groove Disruptions

Oh, LIFE!

Most things are the same. I get up at the crack of dawn 4 days out of the week to go work in our local co-op deli, I come home and chase around my 2 1/2 year old who is quickly developing his own personality, spend time with my husband, but now its all at my parents house. We are officially out of our old place and helping my parents for the next step. In fact, I’m surrounded by boxes right now, and the first round of movers are coming tomorrow.

strawberry shortcake festival

A lot of things have come back into perspective for me this week, through various causes. I’m easing back into getting my healthy lifestyle back on track, spending more time reading to my boy, making time for my spouse, and for games. We’ve probably played more games in the last week than we had in the last month…maybe two.

boss monster

Got to try out Boss Monster finally, and I really enjoy it. Its not something I feel the need to play 3x a night, but its a nice game to break out for a quick competitive game with some humor. We’ve also been playing Vikings! Our first game was a 4 player game with my parents, and I enjoyed getting them involved and learning the game. A couple nights later, Raine and I played 2 player mode and I found it much more difficult, but I liked it. Its one of those rare games that I’m glad we played with max players first.

We were give the chance to demo Maha Yodha, a new card game on Kickstarter, too. I’m still forming my opinion of it, so I can’t say much on it. We’ve also been playing a game that won’t be on Kickstarter until June – I don’t even know if I can talk about it, but its about building machines and its pretty damn cool.

izzet

Of course, Magic is a regular thing to hit the table, and I do love playing EDH format. However, we did decide to pick up a few things to build some standard decks. Mainly to play shorter games. I thought about trying out new colors, but decided to remain loyal to my red/blue roots, and I’m glad I did. I’ve got a nasty little deck going!

I’m going to be writing out some plans on what to do with my art projects and tattoo work until the move. I’ve been thinking a lot about what to do with my tattoo career, but that thought stream is for another blog post entirely.

And while I did have to kinda drop my weekly “Because I Said I Would”s, I did actually accomplish one of them recently. One card said “I will find a way to make my mom enjoy brussels sprouts”. The other night, I fried up some bacon and onions and shredded brussels sprouts into a warm slaw, and she really enjoyed it. So, victory!

But otherwise, things have been chaotic with the move. There is still no sure destination in Texas, so that is probably what stresses me out the most. I’m just trying to take each day one at a time, stay flexible, and know that the day will end.

Thoughts?

